e-Safety – The ‘Honesty’ App

We would like to make you aware of a new app and website called ‘Sarahah’.

What is Sarahah?

  • An app and website that allows users to send and receive anonymous messages.
  • Users cannot respond to messages but they can “favourite” messages.
  • By default, anyone can leave a message on a profile even if they don’t have an account.
  • Now in the top 20 free apps meaning more people are downloading the app

Why are we posting about this?

  • The Sarahah app has become popular amongst teens and we’re aware that some of our students are already actively using it.
  • The app promotes anonymity – making teens feel like they can hide behind their anonymous screen names and bully others without repercussions.
  • Sarahah is predominantly used to bully other users.
  • There is no filter for explicit content.
  • There is no way to report inappropriate content or threats.

What can parents do?

  • We would advise parents to discuss the dangers of anonymous apps and have their child delete their Sarahah account (if they use Sarahah).
  • Students can link their Sarahah account with their Snapchat account, we advise your child not to do this.
  • Ensure your child knows what is appropriate to send in private and public messages, whether they are anonymous or not
  • If your child has a desire to use apps like Sarahah, please challenge them to give positive and constructive feedback offline instead.

A full video guide covering all aspects of Sarahah can be found below:

As a school we do cover many aspects of anonymity, appropriate online behaviour and social networks in our regular e-safety assemblies and lessons.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding e-safety please do check out our dedicated e-safety section where you can find guidance on many different websites/apps.

SNAPCHAT PRIVACY WARNING

Warning to all Parents and Students

Snapchat has just launched a new feature which lets other people find out exactly where you are at any given moment.

Snapchat say that this is an opt in feature.

Snap Map lets you share your real-time location, which can be seen on an interactive map precise enough to show not only which street you’re on, but whereabouts you are on that street too.

This is very alarming, there are many privacy and safeguarding implications of this new feature and we STRONGLY urge parents and students to turn this feature off.

How to switch off Snap Map location sharing

  • When in photo-taking mode, pinch the screen to open Snap Map
  • Touch the settings cog in the top right corner of the screen
  • Tap “Ghost Mode” to switch off location sharing
  • Photos and videos posted to Snapchat’s public ‘Our Story’ will still be discoverable on the map.